Civitype FG

In 1557 the French engraver Robert Granjon developped a typeface called "CivilitÚ". Its characters imitate French cursiva letters of the Renaissance. Stephen G. Moye published his take on that face in 1991 as a public domain font called "Civitype" It contained a number of swash letters as well, among others an s with a flourish, in the slot for the German double s (▀).

Since the font was PD I had no scruples to design my own '▀'. Now the flourish s had to go elsewhere. That's how it all started. I discovered that the character combination 'ld' did not work properly, so I made another 'd'. Thinking that the swash 'w' did not look good in the middle of a word (more common in German than in English), I cut off the swash and placed the ornamented character into another slot. And so on.

To cut a long story short: Now there are many character variants in odd places where they don't really belong. But reachable through the Windows character map which was sometimes the only way of using extended characters back then. In particular, I used the accented uppercase vowels. I did not change that atrocity when I made a revision of my font collection in 2013. Sorry about that, but you get what you paid for ;-)

Download

 

 

The font is freeware for personal and commercial use, but this version is not in the Public Domain. Please mind the Fontgrube distribution policy laid down in the readme file of the font archive.

Civitype FG

1557 schuf der Kupferstecher Robert Granjon die Schriftart „Civilité“. Sie ahmt die handgeschriebene französi­sche Cursiva der Renaissance-Zeit nach. Stephen G. Moye veröffent­lichte 1991 seine Variante der Civilité als „Public Domain“-Schrift (urheberrechtsfrei). Sie enthielt eine Reihe von Zierbuchstaben, unter anderem ein „s“ mit Schnörkel auf dem „ß“ – für den Gebrauch im Deutschen etwas unpraktisch.

Da die Schrift freigegeben war, entwarf ich mein eigenes „ß“. Das Schnörkel-s mußte auf einen anderen Platz. Und so fing es an. Ich bemerkte, daß die Zeichenfolge „ld“ unschön wirkte, und baute ein neues „d“. Das alte wurde auf einen Ausweichplatz verlegt. So hatte es schon Moye mit seinen Buchstabenvarianten gemacht. Mir fiel auf, daß das „w“ einen Schnörkel hatte, der im Wortinneren nicht paßte. Also mußte ein einfacheres her, das Schnörkel-w wurde verlegt.

Um es kurz zu machen: Es gibt jetzt viele Varianten auf anderen Zeichen, wo sie eigentlich nicht hin­gehören. Häufig sind sie auf den Großbuchstaben mit Akzent zu finden. Damals, als Unicode sich noch nicht wirklich durchgesetzt hatte, ein akzeptabler Kompromiß. Bei der Revision meiner Schriftarten 2013 habe ich den Aufwand gescheut, daran etwas grundsätzlich zu ändern. You get what you pay for ;-)

Download

 
 

Civitype FG ist Freeware für privaten und gewerblichen Einsatz, aber anders als sein Urahn nicht Public Domain. Das heißt, es gelten die hier üblichen Beschränkungen für die Weitergabe und Weiterver­öffentlichung im Netz, wie sie auch in der Beschreibungsdatei der Schrift festgehalten sind.