Jorvik Informal

In May 2000 I found a symple of the typeface “York” in an old specimen book. It was, so to speak, love at first sight. Unfortunately no hint as to who had made that beautiful face, neither in the book nor in the internet, where York was unknown as a typeface by then. So the only solution was to make a version of my own with the abilities and the tools I had then.

Meanwhile the secret of York has been disclosed. Georg Salden designed the York face in 1966 or 1967. There is, as far as I know, thirteen years later, no digital version as yet (April 2013).

I am well aware of the shortcomings ov my 'quick-and-dirty' versons that have been pointed out in the internet. More faithfulness to the original design would have required much more time than I could spare.

„Jorvik“, by the way, is the old Viking name of the city of York in North England. Jorvik Informal is freeware for personal and commercial use. Maybe one day there will be a digital version by the artist himself. Until then ...

Jorvik Informal

Im Mai 2000 stieß ich in einem alten Musterbuch auf eine Schriftart namens „York“. Es war gewissermaßen Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Allerdings fand ich zunächst weder im Buch noch irgendwo im Internet Hinweise auf den Urheber, geschweige denn die Schriftart selbst in digitaler Form. Also blieb nur das Selbermachen.

Inzwischen hat sich das Geheimnis gelüftet. Georg Salden hat die York 1966 oder1967 entworfen. Eine digitale Fassung gibt es meines Wissens bislang (13 Jahre später, April 2013) immer noch nicht.

Die Unzulänglichkeiten meiner „Quick-and-dirty“-Digitalisierung sind im Internet benannt und mir durchaus bewußt. Eine bessere Angleichung an das Original hätte noch einige manuelle Nachbearbeitung erfordert, zu der mir bislang die Zeit gefehlt hat.

„Jorvik“ ist übrigens der alte Wikingername der nordenglischen Stadt York. Jorvik Informal ist Freeware für privaten und gewerblichen Gebrauch. Vielleicht gibt es für die Profis doch noch eines Tages eine Digitalisierung vom Künstler selbst.

 

Anwendungsbeispiel